Thai Tourist Visa & Tourist Visa Exemption


General Information

Thai Tourist VisaGenerally, a foreign citizen who wishes to enter the Kingdom of Thailand is required to obtain a visa from a Royal Thai Embassy or a Royal Thai Consulate-General. However, nationals of certain countries do not require a visa if they meet visa exemption requirements.

Additionally, you must hold a current passport with a minimum validity of 6 months remaining from the intended date of entry. Also you must be in possession of an onward or return travel ticket to prove you intend to leave the country.

Tourist Visa Exemption

Passport holders from 41 countries and 1 special administrative region – Hong Kong SAR – are not required to obtain a visa when entering Thailand for tourism purposes and will be permitted to stay in the Kingdom for a period of not exceeding 30 days on each visit. If such foreigners enter the Kingdom at the immigration checkpoints which border neighboring countries (overland crossings) , they will be allowed to stay for 15 days each time, except Malaysian nationals who cross the borderline from Malaysia whose granted period of stay will not exceed 30 days each time.

Foreigners entering Thailand under the Tourist Visa Exemption category must possess adequate finances for the duration of stay in Thailand (i.e., cash 10,000 Baht per person and 20,000 Baht per family).

  1. Australia : Commonwealth of Australia
  2. Austria : Republic of Austria
  3. Belgium : Kingdom of Belgium
  4. Brazil : Federative Republic of Brazil
  5. Bahrain : State of Bahrain
  6. Brunei Darussalam : Negara Brunei Darussalam
  7. Canada
  8. Denmark : Kingdom of Denmark
  9. Finland : Republic of Finland
  10. France : French Republic
  11. Germany : Federal Republic of Germany
  12. Greece : Hellenic Republic
  13. Hong Kong : Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
  14. Iceland : Republic of Iceland
  15. Indonesia : Republic of Indonesia
  16. Ireland : Republic of Ireland
  17. Israel : State of Israel
  18. Italy : Republic of Italy
  19. Japan
  20. Korea : Republic of Korea
  21. Kuwait : State of Kuwait
  22. Luxembourg : Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
  23. Malaysia
  24. Monaco : Principality of Monaco
  25. Netherlands : Kingdom of the Netherlands
  26. New Zealand
  27. Norway : Kingdom of Norway
  28. Oman : Sultanate of Oman
  29. Peru : Republic of Peru
  30. Philippines : Republic of the Philippines
  31. Portugal : Republic of Portugal
  32. Qatar : State of Qatar
  33. Singapore : Republic of Singapore
  34. Spain : Kingdom of Spain
  35. South Africa : Republic of South Africa
  36. Sweden : Kingdom of Sweden
  37. Switzerland : Swiss Confederation
  38. Turkey : Republic of Turkey
  39. United Arab Emirates
  40. United Kingdom : United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  41. United States of America
  42. Vietnam : Socialist Republic of Vietnam

Visa on Arrival in Thailand

  • Passport holders from 21 countries and territories may apply for visas on arrival at the immigration checkpoints for the purpose of tourism for the period of not exceeding 15 days.
  • The applicant must possess means of living expenses at the amount of 10,000 Baht per person and 20,000 Baht per family accordingly.
  • The applicant must possess a passport with at least six-month validity and must present full paid ticket which is usable within 15 days since the date of entry
  • A Thai Visa on arrival is provided at 24 designated international checkpoints and applicants should submit the application form duly filled out and to which his/her recent photograph (4 x 6 cm) is attached. The application fee is 1,000 Baht
  • Visitors who enter the Kingdom with Visa on Arrival generally cannot file an application for extension of stay except in special cases such as illness which prevents them from traveling, etc.

List of countries and territories is as follows :

  1. Bhutan : Kingdom of Bhutan
  2. China : People’s Republic of China
  3. Cyprus : Republic of Cyprus
  4. Czech : Czech Republic
  5. Estonia : Republic of Estonia
  6. Hungary : Republic of Hungary
  7. India : Republic of India
  8. Kazakhstan : Republic of Kazakhstan
  9. Latvia : Republic of Latvia
  10. Liechtenstein : Principality of Liechtenstein
  11. Lithuania : Republic of Lithuania
  12. Maldives : Republic of Maldives
  13. Mauritius : Republic of Mauritius
  14. Oman : Sultanate of Oman
  15. Poland : Republic of Poland
  16. Russian Federation
  17. Saudi Arabia : Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
  18. Slovakia : Slovak Republic
  19. Slovenia : Republic of Slovenia
  20. Taiwan
  21. Ukraine

List of Thailand’s Immigration Checkpoints which provide facilities for issuance of visa on arrival :

  1. Suvarnabhumi Airport
  2. Don Muang International Airport, Bangkok
  3. Chiangmai International Airport, Chiangmai
  4. Phuket International Airport, Phuket
  5. Hatyai International Airport, Songkhla
  6. U Tapao Airport, Rayong
  7. Mae Sai Immigration Checkpoint, Chiengrai
  8. Chieng Saen Immigration Checkpoint, Chiengrai
  9. Chieng Khong Immigration Checkpoint, Chiengrai
  10. Betong Immigration Checkpoint, Yala
  11. Sadoa Immigration Checkpoint, Songkhla
  12. Samui Airport, Surat Thani
  13. Sukhothai International Airport, Tak Immigration Checkpoint
  14. Bangkok Harbour Immigration Checkpoint, Bangkok
  15. Sri Racha Immigration Checkpoint, Chonburi
  16. Mabtaput Immigration Checkpoint, Rayong
  17. Nong Khai Immigration Checkpoint, Nong Khai
  18. Samui Immigration Checkpoint, Surat Thani
  19. Phuket Immigration Checkpoint, Phuket
  20. Satun Immigration Checkpoint, Satun
  21. Krabi Immigration Checkpoint, Krabi
  22. Songkhla Harbour Immigraion Checkpoint, Songkhla
  23. Chiangrai Airport Immigration Checkpoint, Chiang Rai
  24. Surat Thani Airport Immigration Checkpoint, Surat Thani

What if I overstay my Thailand Visa?

Overstaying a Thai visa is a very serious matter.  At best when you try to leave the country you will be fined 500 baht per day for each day you have overstayed, up to a maximum of 20,000 baht. As long as you pay the fine that will be the end of it. However, should you be stopped by the police for any reason or maybe even the immigration police do a random check of your hotel, should you be found to be on a overstay you WILL be arrested. After a period of time in a  very unpleasant Thai jail, you will be fined and deported all at your own expense. Additionally, when you next try to obtain entry to Thailand, you may be refused.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Can't find what you're
looking for?
by admin

Speak Your Mind